Shopping and Buying from the WC

I don’t know if you do much online shopping and buying, but more and more Americans are doing such things these days and they are doing it from all over the house–including the bathroom.

Here is an interesting article from my friends at Wired.com which speak to this topic about our shopping trends using tablets and smartphones. I wholeheartedly agree with the conclusions of the article: it is easier to shop anywhere in the house (or even outside) with our mobile devices today and the shopping/buying experience is far easier on a tablet as compared to a smartphone.

I have had an iPhone for several years but I was never interested in doing much shopping from one simply because the screen is too small and my eyes have grown too weak with passing years to make the operation usable and/or easy. With the advent of the iPad, I do all my mobile shopping using that device these days. Much more convenient to use.

With my iPhone’s contract expiring this coming January, I am giving serious thought to dumping that phone for something less complex and cheaper. Since any “smartphone” functions can be carried out on my iPad with a much more reasonable screen size before me, why should I also carry around a phone that basically duplicates the same uses? I’m not a kid with sharp eyes anymore and when those young people in their teens, twenties, and thirties reach the age of diminishing eyesight, they too will realize that smartphones aren’t quite as functional as they once appeared to be.

Sometimes our desire for the most recent gadget runs directly into real life. And usually real life wins.

By the way, if you haven’t figured it out by now, the “WC” in the title for this post refers to “Water Closet”, another way to describe the bathroom. I didn’t want to leave you in the dark!

Leave a Reply

