Almost Speechless

I’ve been sitting here this morning considering what I could write following last night’s victory by the St. Louis Cardinals over the Los Angeles Dodgers but words fail me. Good grief, when the Major League’s best pitcher (Clayton Kershaw) is staked to a 6 to 1 lead it’s natural to assume the game is pretty well over. Such was not the case.

The Cardinals’ rallied back and defeated the Dodgers 10 to 9. Since most of the so-called experts have LA winning this series easily, I’m sure there’s a lot of head scratching going on this morning.

I’m just going to enjoy the moment as this Cardinal team has been the most confounding bunch of players I’ve seen in many a year. They could win this series and they could lose the next three games just as easily. We’ll have to wait and see.

Coupled with the Cardinals’ win, the Kansas City Royals beat the Angels of Anaheim CA (that’s not their official name–it’s much more convoluted than that) last night to take a 2 games to none advantage in their series. You could say it’s Missouri 3 and California 0 for playoff baseball.

There are several fans of the Royals in our congregation and it’s great that they have something to cheer about. The last time their team was in the playoffs was 1985 and I don’t want to think about how that series turned out (for those of you who don’t know, the Royals beat the Cardinals in the World Series).

That’s enough babbling on my part–things may change completely today. But I’m going to enjoy the victory from last night a little bit longer.

One thought on “Almost Speechless

  1. Well, as I posted on Facebook, I turned the game off after Ellis hit that two-run home run and put the Dodgers up 6 – 1. It wasn’t that I felt that all was lost or anything but the way Wainwright and Kershaw were pitching, it seemed logical. Besides I had some other things to do and suffering through a loss would only delay what I needed to do late on a Friday evening.

    Later in the evening, in checking on a process I had running, I had the opportunity to check the score and then I discovered that I had missed another of the great Cardinal October comebacks (I also missed Game 6 of the 2011 World Series and last year’s game with the Nationals).

    The good news is that I recorded the game so I can watch it this morning!

    And the way things look, the possibility of an I-70 World Series looks very good. Like you, there was something about the 1985 World Series that suggests we need a rematch to correct some wrongs.

Leave a Reply

