Mid-Week Stewardship Thought

The Giving of Self

“My son, give Me your heart …”(Proverbs 23:26).  God is more interested in the giver of the gifts than the gifts themselves.  The fundamental truth of stewardship is that when we give ourselves it is a privilege and a joy to give our service and our money.  Love always gives and delights in giving.  Love never asks how little must I give, but how much can I give.  We can give without loving, but we can’t love without giving.

The gift or sacrifice it requires can be a measure of love. “God so loved the world that he gave His one and only Son” (John 3:16). Paul said, “I have been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ Who lives in me.  And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, Who loved Me and gave Himself for me” (Galatians 2:20).

Prayer: Dear Father, grant me a giving and generous heart.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

Blessings on your stewardship journey!

Published by

bobherring2009

Living in north central Arkansas among the trees and lakes serving the Lord in one of His churches. A lifelong Lutheran who cares greatly about God's Church. Recently married and enjoying life with my dear wife. Many interests--St. Louis Cardinals, NASCAR, and the St. Louis Blues!

Leave a Reply

