Why You’re Not So Good at Swatting Flies

We had a meeting a church yesterday and I watched several members attempt to catch two flies that were buzzing around with no success. Then I come across this article from BBC News which explains why flies are so good at avoiding our efforts to kill them.

Now I have devised my own method for catching those flies. I approach them slowly with my hands apart (like I’m ready to clap), surround them on either side of where they are sitting, and then bring my hands together with them inside. I have a 60-70 percent rate of success but that’s better than most folks. By the way, I did catch both of those flies during our meeting. And I did wash my hands afterwards.

Leave a Reply

