Is This the Future of Organs?

I came across this article from the Boston Globe which describes a completely different style of organ for the church (and, I’m sure, other uses).

The organ has been one of my favorite instruments and it is exciting to see what can be constructed using today’s technology. The purists will scoff at the notion that anything electronic can come close to the sound of a pipe organ but it appears that 21st century organs are different and yet render the sounds in a way that are pretty spectacular.

The two men involved in this new style of organ construction, use techniques and ideas that push the envelope in the area of music reproduction.

I applaud their efforts and I pray that what they, and those who follow, will take us down new roads of music for the church and beyond.

Published by bobherring2009

Living in north central Arkansas among the trees and lakes serving the Lord in one of His churches. A lifelong Lutheran who cares greatly about God's Church. Recently married and enjoying life with my dear wife. Many interests--St. Louis Cardinals, NASCAR, and the St. Louis Blues!

Leave a comment