Mid-Week Stewardship Thought

Serve God and Use Money

Jesus said, “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money” (Matthew 6:24). Have you ever had two bosses? It is a fiasco. It guarantees an ulcer. This becomes a problem of the heart. I must choose what I will love most in life. The choice is simple becomes it comes down to two things. I didn’t say this. Jesus said the choice comes down to God or money. Isn’t it easy to make money a god? Isn’t it easy to be consumed, to be so preoccupied with wanting more money? You and I must choose what we are to serve and love most of all. The very first commandment says, “You shall have no other gods before Me.” God wants first place. What takes our time and attention can become our God. Money makes a good servant, but money makes a lousy God.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, empower me to be devoted to You. Help me to hold onto my money very loosely so that I can use it in ways that give You glory. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Blessings on your journey as a steward!

Published by

bobherring2009

Living in north central Arkansas among the trees and lakes serving the Lord in one of His churches. A lifelong Lutheran who cares greatly about God's Church. Recently married and enjoying life with my dear wife. Many interests--St. Louis Cardinals, NASCAR, and the St. Louis Blues!

Leave a Reply

