Mid-Week Stewardship Thought

Growing in Spiritual Maturity

Jesus affirmed the authority of Scripture. He said, “Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will not pass away” (Matthew 24:35). God wants us to grow in spiritual maturity, and we can’t grow apart from the truth and grace we find in His Word. Paul scolded the believers in Corinth who hadn’t grown as much as they should have: “Brothers, I could not address you as spiritual but as worldly—mere infants in Christ. I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready. You are still worldly. For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere men?” (1 Corinthians 3:1-3 NIV). Paul expected more from those who had listened to the Word of God for a long period of time. Can’t God expect more from us as well?

Prayer: Dear Lord, “Your Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light to my path” (Psalm 119:105). I thank You that You speak to me through Your Word. I know that it is through Your Word that I can begin to understand how much You love me and want to bless me. Grant me the desire to read and study Your Word daily. In Jesus’ precious name I pray. Amen.

Blessings on your stewardship journey!

Leave a Reply

