For Those of You Who Didn’t Win the Powerball

One of my relatives texted my wife yesterday and asked a simple favor: would we pray for her Powerball tickets so that the winning one would be among them?

I’m never one to pass up on an opportunity to pray, so this is what I sent:

Lord, help me remain calm when I find out I wasted my money on those tickets. Grant me the grace I need to not be jealous when the winner is announced. Finally, dear Father, give me the common sense not to buy more tickets since I know I have a better chance of being struck by lightning than winning a drawing. Amen.

Never did hear back from her and with the information that the winning ticket was sold outside of Boston I guess my prayer wasn’t quite what was sought.

How about you? What were you praying for?

Published by bobherring2009

Living in north central Arkansas among the trees and lakes serving the Lord in one of His churches. A lifelong Lutheran who cares greatly about God's Church. Recently married and enjoying life with my dear wife. Many interests--St. Louis Cardinals, NASCAR, and the St. Louis Blues!

One thought on “For Those of You Who Didn’t Win the Powerball

  1. The usual; the sick, the hungry, the imprisoned, the lonely, our government leaders, my loved ones. Sound like a goody two shoes, but I’m serious. God provides for me in amazing ways. From what I’ve read, winners find themselves quite unhappy after all.

Leave a comment